Can I Freeze…..????


A lot of people aren’t sure whether things can be frozen or not.  Freezing can help when you find those super cheap markdowns like Woodmans has, or if you even just stock up on Aldi veggies, or grow your own.  In my experience, the following items can be frozen:

PRODUCE:
Red, yellow, orange or green bell peppers:  Chop into strips or dice them up.  They will be a bit soft when you go to use them but are still great in things like chili where it doesn’t matter so much.

Whole tomatoes: Wash them, dry them, freeze whole.  They won’t work for BLT’s but they will work for thick things like chili or pasta sauce.

DAIRY:
Cheese singles: freeze well

Shredded cheese: freezes well (I’ve heard that it clumps together when frozen.  I have not noticed this myself)

Block cheese: Can be frozen but sometimes crumbly when thawed out to use.  Still works for salads or things where you will melt it.  I think crumbles would still work for most things instead of shredded….

Milk: Have not tried personally but have heard you can if you empty a bit off the top to avoid expanding and exploding 🙂

Sour cream: Changes texture when frozen.  Might still be ok for cooking.

Butter or Margarine: freezes well

Heavy cream: freezes well

MEATS:
All meats that I know of can be frozen.  If you buy a large package, say 3 lbs.  of ground beef, split the meat up into portions you will use at one time.  For a family of 4 that is probably 1 pound, for bigger families it might be larger amount, for under 4 it might be smaller.  I usually split 3lb packages into 5 freezer bags.

What items have you attempted freezing, and what process do you follow? What are the end results? If you have suggestions for us please leave a comment!

About trishay79

I live in Wisconsin with my husband and love to travel around the state. I like anything frugal related including getting free things with coupons and saving money on travel and entertainment. I am also an avid crocheter. My blogs reflect my interests.
This entry was posted in Stretching Your Purchases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

