Bunsteads (Tuna Melts)


These are basically tuna melts on buns that get baked.  I don’t usually measure ingredients.  I have frozen the sandwich filling successfully before if there’s any left.  This is versatile, you can use any veggies you do have and leave out what you don’t.

tin foil (I purchase at woodmans for 25 ft pkg for 59 cents I believe it is)
1 package hard rolls or hamburger buns (good time to buy is get from Piggly Wiggly markdowns especially like after easter but might have hard rolls other times reduced too)

FOR FILLING:
Green bell pepper, chopped
Onion, chopped
3-4 hard boiled eggs, chopped
dill pickles, chopped
green olives, chopped
1 to 1.5 packages cheese singles or 1 lb. velveeta broken or cut into pieces
1/2 to 1 cup mayonnaise (Piggly Wiggly & Woodmans I believe carry same cheap off brand $2 or slightly more, can’t remember brand name; Aldi also has it for $2ish but I don’t care for the Aldi brand)
1 to 2 small cans tuna (cant remember if that is 3 oz or 5 oz? I think 3oz the “typical” size)

Fill buns with filling.  Tear off a sheet of foil about 1 ft x 1 ft square maybe?  big enough to wrap a sandwich.  Fold bottom corner over sandwich then opposite bottom corner, top right corner then top left corner to wrap sandwich.

Bake in oven 350*F for 25 minutes.  Use potholder to remove from oven.

About trishay79

I live in Wisconsin with my husband and love to travel around the state. I like anything frugal related including getting free things with coupons and saving money on travel and entertainment. I am also an avid crocheter. My blogs reflect my interests.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

