Freezer Excurisions


We are a family of 2 and happen to have a big spare freezer.  Recently on a pantry challenge group there was discussion about making up freezer meals.  Well, I decided to clean out my entire 2 freezers to see what was in there.  Some of that stuff goes bad since you don’t know what’s in there and that does not save money!

So I am going through all the meat in my freezer and slowly cooking up into meals.  So far I have got most of the hamburger cooked up and have sloppy joe sandwich filling, taco meat and today I will make up some plain ground beef to use in my made-from-scratch hamburger helper.  I had some frozen red and green bell peppers and some italian sausage in there so took that and made into pasta sauce.  Found out now i have not one but two turkeys in there! So soon going to be working with the turkeys.

I think I am going to make this a regular practice to try to cook up food as soon as I buy it or soon after in big batches.   It’s  pain initially but it is so nice when you want to know what’s for dinner to just grab something and not have to mess with cooking meat before you have a meal!  Also this way I can talk hubby into making dinner since he is not constantly asking me questions about measurements for food items.

Does anyone else do this with their freezer food?  What kinds of meals do you freeze?

About trishay79

I live in Wisconsin with my husband and love to travel around the state. I like anything frugal related including getting free things with coupons and saving money on travel and entertainment. I am also an avid crocheter. My blogs reflect my interests.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

