Cooking with Teens


Every other week I like to do a breakfast for dinner meal, where the idea of the meal is to make a number of breakfast items that then can be used later in the week at breakfast. I usually make homemade sourdough english muffins, apple pancakes, sometimes french toast, sometimes some sausage links. So today, I was making sourdough english muffins, french toast and apple pancakes.

I was working on the sourdough english muffins, rolling them out and I had my 14 year old son, Zachary, get out the griddle that I cooke them on and set it up. Then I turned it on as I don’t remember the temperature in my head, but when I look at it, I do. I asked him to find the apple pancakes recipe. He found the recipe and sat there, saying nothing. When I realized I asked him to start it and looked over it and said the only changes that we would make today was half wheat flour and half regular flour and of course splenda for the sugar.

By the time he finished stirring up the flours, sugar, etc. and was working on the eggs, I was done rolling out the sourdough english muffins and was waiting for the griddle to reach the temperature that I wanted. So I measured out some milk for his recipe and put it near where he was working on beating the eggs. (Yes, I have told him that you don’t need to beat the eggs to death when it is into a recipe, but he is used to our beat the eggs to death when we make scrambled eggs.) Then he took the eggs over towards the dry ingredients and couldn’t find where I put the milk, to which I told him that it was near where he was earlier and he then found the milk.

He commented that the pancake recipe seemed thin to which I commented that it wasn’t a bread dough, so it is a bit thin. I stirred it up a bit and noticed that yes, it was thin. He was right about that and I confirmed that he did add two cups of flour. So then I added the two shredded apples, he does not like using the shredder and he started working on the french toast dip. I still thought it looked quite thin, so I decided I would add more flour to the recipe.

When I went to go get the regular flour to add more to the recipe, I noticed that it was sitting near where I had been rolling out the sourdough english muffins, so there was no way he added regular flour. I half assumed he added bread flour instead. I commented to him that the regular flour was near my rolling board and he looks at me and says then what is that and points at the second largest yellow canister. I opened it and looked at it, sugar. He had added a cup of sugar instead of a cup of flour and had no idea. (The largest yellow canister has the regular flour in it.)

In the end, I decided to make it into apple muffins as those use more sugar compared to flour than the apple pancakes do and they are slightly sweet, as I used a basic muffin recipe that didn’t add any fruit, but they are quite good. I couldn’t bear to waste the mixture, especially as I didn’t have enough apples left to make the apple pancakes and still have enough to last the week until Wednesday, and my next double coupon day at Pick’n Save. (I do try and minimize my running out to get this or that one item.)

Now I have to ask, does flour and sugar look alike to you or would it be obvious? My son said he had no brain and I commented that no, he had a brain, but just tends to work on autopilot sometimes. Is this common with teenagers? I suspect the answer is yes. But how is that for a near cooking disaster?

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

