Lawry Marinade Review and Contest


I received from BzzAgent.com and Lawry’s Marinades and Seasonings a box of goodies to try. My box contained two marinades, a bottle of seasoned salt and a red apron. I tried the Lawry’s Santa Fe Chili Marinade with Lime and Garlic this evening.

I had some boneless pork thawing in the fridge, so I poured into a ziploc bag 1/2 cup of the Santa Fe Chili marinade into 1.65 lbs. of pork, as that is what I had. Then I put it in the refrigerator to marinate awhile while I threw on some salsa rice. I put one cup of uncooked brown rice into a casserole dish, with 1/2 cup salsa, 1 can of no salt added black beans and 2 cups of water and put that in the oven on 375 degrees for one hour. Towards the end of the hour, I took the pork out of the refrigerator and broiled it until done. I served the pork with the salsa rice and corn on the side for my family of myself, my husband and my 14 year old son. Everyone liked the meat with the marinade quite a bit. I think it might go a bit better with chicken, as it was a tad mild for the pork, but then maybe it needed a little more marinade for that much pork. I was trying not to add to much with the sodium content of this and most store bought marinades. There is a recipe for Santa Fe Chicken and Corn Salsa on the Lawry’s website that sounds interesting. It was also included in my box of goodies. The other marinade that they sent me was a Mediterranean Herb & White Wine Marinade, which we have not tried yet.

I have to say that I was pleased with the marinade and I was surprised at how many different marinades Lawry’s has. I never knew they had so many. When I looked at the flavors one that caught my eye was the Balsamic Herb Marinade with Italian Herbs and Balsamic Vinegar, as I do a chicken potato carrot and sweet potato dish with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, rosemary and garlic. This marinade might be quite good and I hope I get to try it.

Now for the giveaway. Would you like to try some of these marinades or seasoned salts too? Well, they also included some coupons along with the marinades for sharing with others. There is a $.75 off 1 8 oz. or larger Lawry’s Seasoned Salt and a $1 off 1 Lawry’s marinade coupon. Both expire 7/31/12. I am going to split these up a bit and give away two sets of three of these coupons. IE if you win you would receive 3 $.75 off 1 seasoned salt and 3 $1 off 1 Marinades coupons mailed to your house possibly along with some other coupons that you request. Just respond to this post with a Lawry’s marinade or seasoning salt that you would like to try or share your favorite recipe using their marinade or seasonings, or share your favorite grilling or meat marinade recipe.

Please make sure we have an email address that we can respond to, either in the post, or emailed to us, or associated with the post. IE we can see an email address with the post that others can not see, but sometimes they are bogus and no one responds when we tell them they are the winner. This contest will run until the end of next week, June 23, so that I can mail them out soon after.

(While I was given a free sample to try and share some buzz on what I thought of the product, this review is mine and my opinion. I am not being paid to write it.)

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Product Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lawry Marinade Review and Contest

  1. Pingback: Pick’n Save Deals for 6/21 through 6/27 | Stretch Your Dollar Waukesha!

Leave a Reply

