What I Plan to Do With Recent Purchases


I plan several snacks, lunch and dinner meals based on stuff I got cheap or free recently from mostly pick n save doubling deals but also some from piggly wiggly and woodmans.

My Cheap Items:

Eggplant. I think this was 40 cents but not sure, mom found it in reduced produce basket at Woodmans and shared one with me.  These shopping carts full of reduce produce (and other reduce items) can be found either by cart corral to the left of liquor department or near the self check registers on either side.  This is where we have also found lettuce for 40 cents and bags of 8-10 green peppers for 80 cents for the whole bag in the past.

Beef roast $2.99 and free 5 lb. potatoes, 1 lb. carrots, and celery with purchase.  Also have some older carrots I got cheap.

Cereal under $1 a box and got free dozen eggs and gallon milk with purchase. Did this 2 or 3 times.

Ragu and Wishbone were around 25 cents after sales/double coupons for me recently.  I had some extra good coupon values.

Piggly Wiggly had beef stew meat marked down to $2.99/lb. recently and I bought a few packages.

Got 2 packs of tortilla chips for 50 cents each at double coupons at pick n save recently.

Got shredded and block 8 oz cheeses for $1.25 awhile back.

Buddig meats for less than 40 cents and string cheese for $2 for 12 oz package.

Some packages of cauliflower and broccoli from mark down bin at woodmans

Lunch/Dinner Meals:
Eggplant Parmesan.  This is tried and true by my parents, 2 sisters and their spouses and hubby and I.  We all loved it.   That cheap eggplant came just in time to use up some of my cheap Ragu!

Beef Stew.  This is a recipe of my sisters.  She doesn’t drink this beer straight, says its really strong and they don’t drink beer but use for cooking.  She gave me one of hers for free.  This will use up some of the cheap beef stew meat and some carrots I have around.

Bunsteads. This will use up eggs and celery.

Beef Roast in Slow Cooker.  This will use up my beef roast, some of the potatoes, some carrots and I will be adding some mushrooms.  I will cook the beef roast by itself with a bit of water and some onion soup mix. Then make the carrots, mushrooms and some mashed potatoes to go with it.

Beef Soup.  I will make 2 kinds of beef soup, one with a beef stock for the base and one with onion soup mix and tomato sauce for the base.   Will be adding fresh veggies to the beef stock base soup and some leftover beef.  The tomato based soup is going to have leftover beef, and a package of frozen mixed veggies in it.

We will probably have spaghetti one night too with Ragu and add green pepper and italian sausage which I have both in the freezer and maybe some canned mushrooms.  Pasta that was probably not more than 50 cents a package 🙂

I am thinking twice baked potatoes with some of the remaining potatoes if we have some left.  Or maybe left over mashed potatoes topped with toppings for twice baked potatoes 🙂

Snacks:
Spinach Dip.  Will use tortilla chips to dip in this.  Can’t find the original recipe but I mostly remember what it was.

1 can diced tomatoes
1 package frozen chipped spinach
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese
1 onion (diced)
6 tbsp milk
2 tbsp diced dried jalapenos rehydrated in 1 tsp water (sis and her hubby prefer 3 tbsp. these can be found at Penzeys.)

Mix everything 😉

I add shredded white cheese on top, either parmesan or 6 cheese italian, but it wasn’t in the original recipe, i just thought it would taste good haha.

It’s supposed to cook for 20 minutes, I don’t remember if it’s 350 or 425.  Either way, the point is cook til it’s heated through.

We will also be snacking on buddig meats and string cheese.

What are you doing with your recent cheap purchases?

About trishay79

I live in Wisconsin with my husband and love to travel around the state. I like anything frugal related including getting free things with coupons and saving money on travel and entertainment. I am also an avid crocheter. My blogs reflect my interests.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

